top of page
  • Oliver Swift

UNCUT GEMS (2019)

Uncut Gems was the surprise film of the London Film Festival back in 2019 and it was one of the films I sadly missed out on seeing. I was lucky enough to get to see the majority of the other big films, but Uncut Gems sadly slipped through my grasp due to a busy schedule. I was a fan of the Safdie Brother’s previous effort, the Robert Pattinson-led Good Time, and I was eager to see their follow up before it dropped on Netflix, so when it hit cinemas for a brief stint, I had to see it on the big screen. I loved it. I think watching it for the first time in a cinema environment definitely helped and enhanced my experience. I was glued to the screen and had a smile on my face right until the end of the closing credits and the lights went up. I went home, thinking of nothing but the sheer intensity of the film and that one song by Gigi D'Agostino that played in the credits. Because that is a catchy tune.

I was almost hesitant to revisit it one the small screen. A part of me thought it would taint my original viewing and leave me regretting going back to it so soon. Could the film live up to my own hype that I was casting upon it? Don’t worry, it did. Without a doubt, this is Adam Sandler’s movie. Portraying gambling addict and pawnbroker, Harold Ratner, Sandler offers us a nuanced portrayal that he rarely gets the opportunity to give anymore. It solidifies his career as much more than a fluke and shows he has the skill to break free of the dunce comedy he is known primarily for. More roles like this please, Adam.

Howard owes a lot of money to a lot of people and his debts are starting to blend together in a way that threatens to overwhelm and crush him. The Safdie’s manage to capture this feeling of out-of-depthness and we spend our time watching the film on the edge of our seats. The Safdie’s find a way to make us care for the rather unlikable Howard by putting us very much in his shoes. The pressure he feels and the chaos he is tied in somehow becomes put on us and, as uncomfortable as that may become at some points, it’s an impressive and engrossing method of filmmaking. Nothing less than a masterpiece. A career-defining performance, a powerhouse directorial duo and a tight screenplay all pool together to create pure, adrenaline-driven entertainment.

Score: 95/100

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page